Inspired by a young swim instructor at the YMCA, Peter Gilgan, founder and CEO of Mattamy Homes, developed the Peter Gilgan Leadership Award (PGLA) to recognize exceptional youth who work at the YMCA.

We are excited to honour the 2018 recipients of the Peter Gilgan Leadership Award at our Award Ceremony. Please join us!

Thursday, August 23
5:00 – 7:00 pm
Peter Gilgan Family YMCA
410 Rebecca Street, Oakville ON

Funded through the Peter Gilgan Charitable Foundation, the award is presented each year to five YMCA of Oakville youth employees who have made notable contributions to the YMCA and the Oakville community. The award consists of five bursaries of up to $5,000 that are given annually selected employees to assist them with their post-secondary education costs.

Applicant requirements:
• Applicant must be currently employed by the YMCA of Oakville
• Applicant must be under the age of 30 at the time of application
• Applicant must be enrolled, or planning to enroll, in full-time or part-time post-secondary studies at an accredited University or post-secondary equivalent college.

Applicants for the bursary will be assessed on the following criteria:
• Characteristics and abilities of the candidate (including, motivation/initiative, leadership skills, employee performance record, demonstration of YMCA values and commendations)
• Contributions to the YMCA and community
• Impact of the award (special circumstances noted by the applicant)
• Area of study (scope and objective of education program and career objectives)


The program is administered by the YMCA of Oakville in conjunction with the Peter Gilgan Foundation. Applicants are screened based on the above criteria and referred to the selection committee for consideration. Assessment includes the employee’s performance record, length of service, and the nature of the applicant’s current assignment. The selection committee may also consult with supervisory staff members, as appropriate, to better assess the candidate’s job performance and leadership potential.

 Past Award Recipients

Nikita Cadranel, Evan Lubansky, Caroline O’Brien, Ryan Natividad, Michael Vanstone

Maxwell Boateng, Chenya Bourne, Elizabeth O’Brien, Erica Pettinato, Sarah Rouse

Phebe Abaya, Kyla Champken, Gabriella Paniccia, Connor Smith, Logan Townsend

Sarah Carpenter, Soma Jawed, Nicolas Lehman, Claire Wilkinson and Sean Williams

Sarah Austin, Kevin Das Neves, Marion Goreski, Sumaira Mumtaz and Lindsay Wilk

Matthew Ellies, Michelle Ng, Natasha Ng and Jonny De Oliveira

Sarah Buchanan, Nicholas Morrison, Michelle Ng and Faye Williams