

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held

Tuesday, June 7, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. At the YMCA of Oakville, 410 Rebecca Street, Oakville

### **MINUTES**

### **WELCOME & COMMENTS**

Chair of the Board of Directors, Jarvis Sheridan, called the meeting to order at 7pm.

Attendee Allen Klarer was introduced and recognized as a founding member of the YMCA of Oakville.

## **MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, 2010**

Motion: To approve the Minutes of the 2010 Annual General Meeting as presented.

Moved by: Doug Auld

Seconded by: Maryem Mubareka

Carried Unanimously

## **FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2010**

Maryem Mubareka, Chair of the Finance Committee, presented the Financial Statements for fiscal year 2010, as audited by BDO Canada LLP.

## **APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS**

Motion: To approve BDO Canada LLP as the Auditors through December 31, 2011.

Moved by: Maryem Mubareka

Seconded by: Don Peat Carried Unanimously

### APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINEERS

Motion: To appoint Darryl McKenzie and Kris Copeland as Scrutineers for the election of the 2011-2012 Board of Directors.

Moved by: Tim Clarke Seconded by: Jim D'Orazio Carried Unanimously

#### **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

Jarvis Sheridan (on behalf of the Board Governance Committee) noted that the board required two nominees to serve two-year terms (2011 - 2013) and five nominees to serve three-year terms (2011 - 2014).



Jarvis Sheridan proposed the following slate of Directors: Sharlene Plewman, Janet Wilkinson, Kelly Jennings, Michael Shaen, Richard Stahl, Gail Cosman and Peter Kolisnyk.

Jarvis Sheridan called for additional nominations from the floor. There were no further nominations.

Motion: To approve the following nominees for a two-year term: Sharlene Plewman, Janet Wilkinson.

Moved by: Drew Hubbard Seconded by: Don Peat Carried Unanimously

Motion: To approve the following nominees for a three-year term: Kelly Jennings, Michael Shaen, Richard Stahl, Gail Cosman and Peter Kolisnyk.

Moved by: Doug Auld Seconded by: Neil Lester Carried Unanimously

Retiring members Peter Gregg, Don Peat, Drew Hubbard, Kevin Yates, Tim Clarke, Jim D'Orazio and Mark Dockstator were thanked for their years of service to the YMCA of Oakville.

### **PRESENTATIONS**

Inspector Jeff Corey from the Halton Regional Police Service shared a presentation regarding youth and community development.

"Together as Girls" program: Rosemary Mousseau, Nikki Cadranel and Rachel Woodward, together with three participants from the "TAG" program shared a presentation regarding their involvement and experiences in the program.

## **CLOSING REMARKS AND ADJOURNMENT**

Jarvis Sheridan, Chair of the Board of the YMCA of Oakville, in closing, thanked the YMCA staff and volunteers for their support of the YMCA of Oakville and their role in preparing for the Annual General Meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:35 p.m.

Motion by: Jim D'Orazio Seconded by: Don Peat Carried Unanimously